First Impressions

Hi Everyone,

it’s been forever since I last posted, but I’m back, and I’ll try to update sooner next time πŸ™‚

Life has been pretty crazy around here, so I figured I’d take a second to update everyone. My next post will be a recipe, promise πŸ™‚

So after my finals were over, I had a few weeks off and went to Berlin for a few days to visit a few friends and also hang out with these awesome people– yep, the cute little guy’s grandparents live in Berlin, so they were there visiting! Two other friends from DC were also in Germany, so I got to see them, as well πŸ™‚ Also, it should be noted that I’ll be home (ie in Maine) for Christmas!!! I haven’t been home since last September and am seriously beyond excited!

Beyond all of that, my life has been all about first impressions lately. My plan to move to Frankfurt fell through at the last minute, so I frantically had to find an apartment in Wiesbaden (which is about 45 mins from Frankfurt). I searched and searched and asked everyone I knew, but only ended up finding one open apartment. However, everything worked out fantastically. First, I should add that awhile ago, I decided to eat a vegetarian diet for the month of August (and decide after if I wanted to continue), and what do you know, I ended up finding an apartment with five German vegans. We have a communal grocery budget and cook together a few times a week. So far, it’s been fantastic. I didn’t eat a lot of meat beforehand, so the transition has been no problem at all.Β I also sleep in a hammock. I wasn’t sure I’d be able to actually sleep in one (at least beyond an afternoon nap next to the ocean), but I’m actually really liking it- Β in fact, I’m writing this post while hanging out in it πŸ™‚

Also, it should be known that there’s a US- Army base in town, and I’m determined to figure out a way to go to their grocery store. Sadly, it’s not as easy as showing your American passport, so I’ve made it my not-so-secret mission to find someone to sign me in πŸ˜‰

Their first impression of me probably wasn’t nearly as awesome… they invited me to go to a party with them my first night (like I said, they’re awesome). We decided to take bikes to the train station in case we came back after the last train, and about two minutes away from our apartment, I was going from the road onto the side walk where it was lower, but my bike just slipped right out from underneath me. It had been raining earlier and was still slippery, so I guess the bike just couldn’t handle it. The crash wasn’t too bad, but I have some serious road burn going on- lemme tell you, not fun! But life goes on. I went to the party anyway and ended up having a great night out despite my wounds. Also, people kept asking me if I knew I was bleeding. Why yes, as a matter of fact I did…

I also got to tell everyone at my new internship that I fell of a bike (they saw the wounds, I figured I should explain them…). So anyway, I’m interning atΒ AFS, which is the program I did my first year abroad with. So far I’ve been doing pretty standard intern tasks, but I’m loving the working environment. There are about ten of us in the office and everyone is extremely helpful and friendly. We also eat together everyday (whoever is in the office) to catch up on life, and someone cooks for the whole office every Wednesday- I was already volunteered for next week, so I’ve got some planning to do πŸ™‚ So far it’s been fun to learn about and be involved behind the scenes, and I actually look forward to going to work each day.

Ok one more random story and then I’m done πŸ˜‰ On my first day, the other intern told me I looked familiar, and I agreed that he also did, but we couldn’t place each other (he isn’t from where I spent my AFS year), so we just left it. Then later, he asked me where I was from. I said Maine and he asked me where exactly. First of all, this pretty much never happens; if people ask follow- up questions, it’s usually something like, “oh, what state is that in?” Ya, so needless to say, I was surprised. It turns out he did his AFS year in the same town my parents currently live in and was the year before I came to Germany. That all means that his predeparture camp was the same as my orientation camp, so we had met after all, and seven years later, here we are. Craziness if you ask me.

Thanks for hanging in there with me!

Enjoy!

One thought on “First Impressions

  1. Ally! It’s crazy that you’re living in Wiesbaden now, I lived there from Kindergarten through 2nd grade! Sadly I didn’t spend much time “on the economy” (i.e. outside the military enclave) so I don’t have any good suggestions for places to go, but my brother was born at the Rotes-Kreuz-Krankenhaus. I might have a few questions for you about applying to grad school in Germany… I’ll email you… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

