Popovers

Given how many times I’ve packed my life into boxes or suitcases, you might think that it gets easier every time. It doesn’t. So in August, when I spontaneously decided to pack up my belongings once again, and move a few thousand miles away, to a place I had never heard of, where I knew no one, and couldn’t find an apartment, I was very glad to have a few days to spend here with these amazing people.


You see, during my senior year of college, I responded to a babysitting post looking for someone who spoke French, German, and English. It turned out the mother was German, the father American, and they met in France. I was looking to keep up with my German, and they were looking for someone to speak German to their son- seemed like a pretty perfect match. It turned out to be much more than a part-time babysitting job. I immediately fell in love with the 5-month old son and also slowly became friends with both of the parents. I watched as the baby took his first few steps and said his first few words, “Ally” was even one of them. We went on adventures around DC together, baked together, and sometimes just played legos or read books. The mom and I took hula-hooping and zumba classes together and we all met up outside of my babysitting hours. Needless to say, they made leaving DC even harder than it already was.

When I realized a trip they had planned to Maine for just so happened to coincide with the few weeks I was planning to spend at home before flying to Germany, I couldn’t have been happier. While we were there, we went to The Jordan Pond House Restaurant and enjoyed our first ever popovers while we overlooked the lake and mountains. This weekend, this cute little toddler turned three, so I thought it’d be fun to recreate them in memory of our good times together, especially the trip to Maine. I also made them mini because I always made things mini for him. It was just easier that way 🙂

The great thing about popovers is that they can be served savory or sweet. Enjoy them with a bowl of chowder or simply with butter and jam. Or if you’re feeling really adventurous, fill with some homemade strawberry-banana soft serve (recipe found below).

Mini- Popovers
Inspiration found here 
makes about 10

1 egg, room temperature
1/2c milk, room temperature
1/2c whole wheat pastry flour or white whole wheat flour
1/2t salt
1T butter, melted
oil to line the muffin pan (or use silicon)

Preheat oven to 375 º F (190º C) and place your greased muffin pan (or popover pan) in the oven to preheat as well.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the eggs and milk. In another bowl, whisk the flour and salt. Add to the egg and milk mixture. Stir until just combined and add the melted butter.

As quickly as you can, remove the muffin pan and fill each cup almost to the top. Place back in the oven for 45 minutes, or until golden brown.  DO NOT open the oven!

After 45 minutes, carefully remove from the oven and make a few slits in each popover. Place back in the oven for 5-10 minutes. This allows for the steam to escape so they don’t collapse.

Allow to cool a few minutes before serving but serve warm. Eat plain or serve with butter, jam, ice cream, banana soft-serve, or something savory like chowder.

I hesitate to even call this a recipe because it’s so easy, but here ya go 🙂

Banana Soft-serve
sliced, frozen bananas
choice of milk (almond, soy, organic, etc)

optional add-ins:
a few strawberries, cherries, blueberries or fruit of choice, fresh or frozen
any kind of nut-butter
vanilla extract
cocoa powder

Add sliced, frozen bananas to a food processor or high-powered blender and blend away.  If it is too thick, add a few tablespoons of milk. Then add your desired mix-in and blend until combined. Yep, that’s it. For some reason, frozen bananas get really smooth and creamy when blended and resemble soft-serve. It’s pretty amazing. Just like my favorite three-year old and his wonderful parents!

Enjoy!

One thought on “Popovers

  1. Pingback: First Impressions | Hungry Ami

Leave a Reply

