Yumm Bowl

Hi Everyone,

April was a crazy month. We had something planned for us every weekend for school- throw in a 10k, half marathon training (which is going great by the way!) and a social life, I was left with little time to cook or bake. Everything I did manage to squeeze in seemed to be slightly off and to top it off, I managed to break my food processor while trying to make some peanut butter. But May is here, and I also got a brand new food processor (for free might I add!).

Pretty, non? It even has 2 sets of blades 🙂

After I replenished my nut butter supply, I decided to make one of my all time favorite meals: the yumm bowl. It’s extremely healthy and takes only a few minutes to make- can’t beat that!

I got the recipe from friends of mine, but it’s apparently originally from a cafe in Oregon.

Yumm Sauce:
inspiration found here

1/4c canola oil (or other light flavored oil)
1/2c almonds
1/2c cooked garbanzo beans
1/3c nutritional yeast
1/2c tofu (firm, extra firm, or silken)
1/2c water
1/2c fresh lemon juice
2 cloves garlic
1/2t salt
2t curry powder
1/2t turmeric (optional)

In a food processor, blender, or with an immersion blender, blend the oil and almonds and garbanzo beans. Add the rest of the ingredients and process until smooth.

This makes a great deal of sauce but tastes fantastic as leftovers and can also be frozen.

Now comes the fun part: Yumm Bowl assemblage!

I always start with a bowl of mixed greens and top with any combination  of the following:

brown rice/wild rice/spelt berries
avocado
garbanzo beans
black beans
shredded cheese
tomatoes
cucumbers
olives
sour cream
salsa

and of course  yumm sauce!

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Yumm Bowl

  1. ooh i love the new food processor! it so cute! and french! my two favorite things.

    and i think we might make this for dinner tonight…

Leave a Reply

