Media Week

Hi guys,

How is everyone? Things here are busy busy busy. The media week I mentioned in my last post is full underway and it’s taking up most of my time. The Hochschule Fulda has hired three social media experts from Berlin to help us design a website, facebook page, twitter page, etc dealing with the topic of cultural secrets. . This is the first time the University has done such a project for ICEUS, so the whole thing is sort of an experiment. But anyway, my group is focusing on secrets and international food (surprise surprise). So far we have made a facebook survey (thanks if you’ve filled it out!) and have been working on a quiz to put on the website. We are also going to go to various ethnic restaurants around town tomorrow and Thursday to interview the owners/workers about the food they serve in Germany vs. in their home country, which I think could be very interesting and fun. Our final plan (for now) is to make a “how to guide” of video clips and articles including things likeΒ  “how to eat spaghetti the italian way” or “how to tell the difference between a cupcake and a muffin.”

I am also part of the layout team and will share the site here when it’s presentable πŸ™‚ The university has also hired/found someone to do the nitty gritty stuff, so we are just responsible for the colors/logo/font etc. I’m actually learning a lot and am getting to play around with stuff I don’t normally have time to do here and software I don’t normally have access to πŸ™‚ Tomorrow, we’re also having an intro to wordpress seminar, so maybe I’ll be able to learn something there, as well. Finally, you should know I joined twitter. It’s sort of something I never really got into before because I had no reason to, but we made an account for our group @culturalsecrets, so I thought I’d join to. You can find me @hungryami. Cleary, I’ve still got a lot to learn.

Oh, and I’m running a 10k on Sunday with my friend Katie. Two of our friends are having a party in Frankfurt on Saturday, so we’ll be spending the night there and then running the 10k on our way home. We’re hardcore like that πŸ˜‰

Also, I don’t have a new recipe tonight, but I thought it’d be fun to post something I found awhile back. It’s not really a secret, but I found it amusing and it sort of fits the topic.

I’d like to note this was actually more expensive than the (also imported) real canadian maple syrup we bought and included high fructose corn syrup and maple flavoring. No real maple syrup. If only it were more expensive in the states, too. Maybe more people would buy the real stuff more often…

Anyway, I served the real maple syrup with some banana-nut-chocolate chip-Mickey Mouse pancakes. They were pretty fantastic, and I’m pretty sure you can’t get much more American than that πŸ˜‰

3 thoughts on “Media Week

  1. Hey du! I’m loving your blog! Ughhh for the maple syrup vs ‘pancake’ syrup haha thanks for sharing. Ich freue mich dein Blog weiter zu lesen πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

