Peanut Flour!

Hi Everyone,

How’s everyone doing? Things have been pretty busy here but have finally started to settle down a bit. At least for now…

Here are a few general updates before I get to the food:

– I am officially moved into my new apartment! I also bought some furniture, so I am no longer living out of boxes and suitcases. And I have internet at home! After 5 months of no internet at home (long story not worth explaining), it is very nice to finally have constant internet access πŸ™‚

– My second semester started last week, this semester is short and will be very busy. We have a Media-Week next week, where we will be dealing with the topic of cultural secrets using film and social media. It sounds like a great idea in theory, but I’m not sure how the practical side will work out… Other than that we will spend a week in Brussels and have a few weekend seminars and lots of group projects and presentations.

– I got an internship for the summer/fall! I will be working at the AFS regional office in Wiesbaden from 8. August- sometime in November. AFS is the exchange program, which I participated in in 2004-2005, and I’m really excited to be working for them. Click here for more info.

-My friend and I joined a running group on campus and met with them for the first time yesterday. It was fun to meet some other runners in the city, and I think it will be a good addition to my training.

– I’ve stuck to my running, slowly adding more time each week. So far my max time is 2 hours and 15 minutes. That’s somewhere between 9 and 13 miles (14,5km-20km). Now that I have internet, I can start mapping out routes to get a better idea of how far it actually is, but for now, I’m not too worried about it.

– I’ve caught the racing bug- I’m officially signed up for a 6k with the University and am looking at three others (of various lengths) in the upcoming months πŸ™‚ If you’re in Fulda, you should also run the race- it’s free for students of the Hochschule πŸ™‚ you can sign up here. So far 5 or 6 of us are signed up, and I actually think it will be a lot of fun.

Ok, now on to food. My roommate was in California for the last month or so and brought me back some goodies πŸ™‚

I had been looking forward to peanut flour for a long time and then heard rumors that it had been discontinued, so I gave up all hopes. However, my roommate ended up finding some for me πŸ™‚ She also brought me some canola oil spray and lots of nutritional yeast. It’s so expensive here- she got me 3 times as much in the US for the same price!

Yesterday morning, I was looking for recipes with peanut flour and couldn’t find any that used the ingredients I had on hand, so I made one up. I did a batch without the jam but definitely liked the ones with it better πŸ™‚

Mini Peanut Butter and Jelly Banana Muffins
a hungryami original

makes 24 mini muffins

1c milk (organic or dairy-free) + 1t vinegar
1T flaxseed + 3T water
3/4c whole wheat pastry flour or white whole wheat flour (German 1050)
3/4c peanut flour
1/2t salt
1t baking soda
1/2t baking powder (1t German kind)
1/4c overripe banana, mashed
1/4c turbinado sugar
1t vanilla extract
2T unsweetened applesauce
1T canola oil
1/4c jam (I used strawberry)

Preheat the oven to 350ΒΊF (175ΒΊC).

Combine the flaxseed and water in a small bowl and set aside for a few minutes.

Combine the milk and vinegar in a small bowl and set aside for a few minutes.

Whisk together the dry ingredients (flours, salt, baking powder, baking soda) in a large bowl and set aside.

In a small bowl, mix together the wet ingredients (banana, sugar, vanilla, applesauce, oil, milk mixture and flax mixture.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir until just combined.

Scoop about 2t batter into the mini muffin, add about 1/2t jam and another 2t batter (You can adjust these amounts according to how big your muffin tin is). You could also use regular muffin tins, but will have to bake them longer.

Bake for 10-12 minutes (18-22 minutes for normal size). Let cool a few minutes in the muffin tin and then move to a cooling rack.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Peanut Flour!

  1. peanut flour! my favorite. there’s no trader joe’s in texas. it’s sad. 😦 maybe i’ll have to get my mom to send a care package so i can make these! i’m pretty sure jake just ate the last of the frozen muffins…

  2. Pingback: Media Week | Hungry Ami

Leave a Reply

