Greens, Greens, Greens

Hi Everyone,

I have some good news! I found a new apartment and will be moving in two weeks 🙂 Everything happened so fast- we saw the new apartment last Sunday, were told we could have it on Monday, then signed the lease and received the keys on Friday. I’m beyond excited. I will have internet at home starting in about a month, and I even have a real kitchen, with four burners and a real oven- ohhh the luxury 😉

Don’t mind the iPhone picture…

My friends and I had many reasons to celebrate Friday, so I made my favorite pumpkin cupcakes 🙂


Last week, when I avoided my current apartment as much as possible because my landlord turned off my heat, my friend and I went to check out the local farmers’ market. I must say DC spoiled me a bit when it comes to farmers market; I was in walking distance from a few this summer, and although they were pricey, they always had the most amazing produce. Needless to say, I was a little disappointed by the Fulda Market. At first I thought it was because it’s winter, but then I realized what disappointed me more was the fact it’s not a “growers only” market. I like knowing where my produce comes from and supporting local farmers as much as possible. When I saw the same exact strawberries I bought recently from Aldi and Florida grapefruit, I was slightly turned off.  They did have some local produce though, and I managed to come away with this gem from a local farmer:

Kale! Or in German: Grünkohl.  I must admit, I’m not a huge fan of greens in general, but I want to be. They’re just so healthy that I refuse to give up until I try every method of preparing them.  I tried kale chips this summer and was a fan, but I’ve wanted to try kale in a smoothie for a while now. And I’m happy to report that it was a success.  Don’t be scared, you don’t really notice the kale. I love healthy food, and constantly try new things, but they also have to taste good for me to make them more than once or post it here.

Kale Chips
1 bunch kale
olive oil (1t-1T depending on how much kale you use)
sea salt

Preheat oven to 375ºF (190ºC). (Unless you also happen to be using a toaster oven, then use 350ºF/175ºC)

Wash and dry kale and cut/rip into medium sized pieces. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle generously with sea salt.

Bake for 15-20 minutes, stirring once. Be sure to keep an eye on it though because it burns very quickly.

Kale Smoothie
1c vanilla soymilk (use whatever milk you have on hand)
3/4c frozen mixed berries
1 ripe banana
1 handful of kale, washed
1tsp honey, maple syrup, or agave nectar (optional)
a few ice cubes (optional, add if it’s too thin)

Blend and enjoy 🙂

I will note, however, that you want to really blend this well. At first I only used my food processor, and the kale was not small enough, and I had to chew it a bit. I then took my immersion blender to it and it turned out perfect. I couldn’t even tell I was drinking greens. Get creative with this method- you can also substitute spinach for the kale and use any combination of fruit (frozen or fresh). If you want more ideas, check out this site.

2 thoughts on “Greens, Greens, Greens

  1. i like adding carrots to mine! my favorite is carrots, apple juice, milk (i use almond usually, but any will do) and/or yogurt, and frozen peaches. yummmmmmmm! i even got jake to drink it 🙂

Leave a Reply

