Staying Healthy and Running

Hi Everyone,

I hope you all had a fantastic Valentine’s Day yesterday.ย  Today I thought I’d write about my half marathon goals and staying healthy while busy.

Ideally, I plan to run the Fulda Half Marathon on September 4th. The only thing currently preventing me from actually registering is the fact that I’m required to do an internship this summer/fall, and I’m not sure where it is going to be yet. As soon as I get a placement anywhere in Germany, I will register. If I don’t run this one, though, I will find another ๐Ÿ™‚

Since this is so far away, my plan for right now is to slowly build up my mileage and endurance, as well as general fitness. When I get closer, I will make a more specific plan based on how I feel at the time. For now though, the plan is running 2-3 times a week, including one long run. I am also adding 10- 15 minutes each week to the long run. I’m adding time and not distance because the GPS on my iPhone is broken and I don’t have internet at home, so mapping out routes isn’t convenient.

Sometimes I run alone, sometimes with friends (hint hint friends in Fulda- you’re always welcome to join, even just for a few km), but I always try to have fun.

In addition to running, I also try to do some sort of cross training 2-3 times a week like classes at the gym or yoga to help with my overall fitness. I also don’t stress if I miss a workout for whatever reason, my goal in doing this is to be healthy and not to stress myself out.

So as you can imagine, all this exercise takes up a lot of my time. To avoid the temptation of take-out food or frozen dinners after my workouts, I do a little planning ahead. Leftovers have become my friend. On the weekend, or on a day with less class, I try to make a big batch of something like soup, healthy pasta sauce or a casserole, I then portion it out and place a few portions in the fridge and a few in the freezer. This way I always have something healthy waiting for me when I don’t have time to cook.

One of my favorites to make is a recipe I found over at Peas and Thank You for zucchini quinoa lasagne.

Instead of using noodles, I used zucchini and the filling is made out of a tomato-quinoa mixture. If you’ve never heard of quinoa, here’s a great overview of the grain.ย  I actually followed her recipe exactly, so check out her page for the recipe. I didn’t have any non-dairy cheese or cream cheese, but it worked just fine with normal cheese and cream cheese. I served this to friends and still had a few portions left for the rest of the week. I hope you enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “Staying Healthy and Running

  1. update: made this, and it was so good. new favorite. also made another mama pea recipe last night for jake’s family. they loved it!

Leave a Reply

