A Few Changes

Hi Everyone,

notice a few changes?

Shall we start with the most obvious? I moved my blog from blogger to wordpress for a number of reasons I won’t bore you with 😉 But anyway, from now on, Not Your Average Toaster is Hungry Ami and can be found here at https://hungryami.wordpress.com/ I found my old name a little too long and also (hopefully!) temporary. Although only baking from a toaster oven has been quite adventurous, I’m really hoping it’s not a permanent way of life for me, but I will always be a hungry ami 🙂

I also plan to start blogging more about my half marathon training- yep, that’s right- half marathon 🙂 Look back later this week for an overview.

I’m also finished my exams 🙂 So while I still have some papers to write (their system is different over here- vacation means paper writing time, not vacation time, but oh well) I have much more time to concentrate on my blog (and half marathon training).

Finally, the real hungry ami is moving soon, too! I gave my notice awhile back and now have time to actually look for a new apartment- maybe even one with an oven and a better lighting situation for pictures! (a girl can hope, right?)

Some things won’t change though- the recipes are gonna keep on coming. Like this one! Actually, it’s more of an anti-recipe because it only involves one ingredient. I have seen people make this before but had never made it until a) the almond butter I brought with me is gone and b) the almond butter here is super expensive- so I gave it a try and plan to make it over and over again 🙂

Homemade Almond Butter

ingredients: Almonds

In just a few simple steps, you can go from whole almonds to delicious, creamy almond butter. All you need is almonds, an oven (or toaster oven), and a food processor (a blender might work, I’ve never tried).

Step 1 (optional) Layer almonds on an ungreased cookie sheet and bake for 10-15 minutes. Don’t burn- that will result in very bitter almond butter. Allow to cool.

Step 2: Add the roasted almonds (or raw if you skip step 1) to your food processor and puree.

You’ll get to something resembling flour- keep going!

It’s starting to come together- at this point, you might have to start scraping down the sides. Keep going!

And going (and scraping)! Just when you think your food processor might die, you get almond butter! I blended for about 9 minutes, but it might take less time in a normal food processor (mine’s mini). Just experiment until you get to this:

It should be nice and drippy- yum 🙂

Now eat with an apple, banana, carrots oatmeal, or use in your favorite recipes (like my nutella cookies). Or store in a jar and save for later.

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Few Changes

  1. Ally,
    You are a terrific writer..what a wonderful way to share in what you are doing. With all of your cooking have you considered doing catering on the side?
    The pictures you are including in your BLOG add alot..
    Thanks for sharing.
    Love you,
    Mom

  2. Pingback: Yumm Bowl | Hungry Ami

Leave a Reply

