Funfetti!

Good Morning!

How’s everyone doing? It’s our last week of classes over here, so we’re all looking for anything to distract us from our upcoming exams 🙂 Enter muffins and cupcakes.

I’m going to be honest, the cupcakes were not my favorite, so we’ll start with those.  They are fun and pretty, afterall. And if you actually follow the recipe, they will be much better (more on that later).

A friend of mine celebrated her birthday this weekend and another friend (a fellow American) suggested funfetti. Since funfetti cake mixes don’t exist in Germany (and since I’m all about homemade anything), we searched for a recipe and found this.

I followed the recipe exactly, but used what turned out to be the wrong flour. AP Flour doesn’t exist in Germany, so I used white whole wheat flour. My international friends liked them, but since I knew the original version (i.e. how they should taste), something was missing for me. Anyway, just use AP flour and that will solve that problem. If you’re in Germany, use a mixture of 405 and 505 (not 1050 like me).

I also ran out of vanilla extract (the horror!) and substituted Vanillezucker (Vanilla sugar) but didn’t use enough, so the vanilla flavor was lacking a bit. If you want to substitute, I’d add 2 teaspoons Vanillezucker or make your own vanilla extract like me (but this takes time- I’m impatiently waiting).
More on this subject in a later post 🙂

Now on to the my preferred version of funfetti! i.e. Vegan Zucchini Bread Muffins. This recipe is one of my favorite recipes of all time. I’m constantly trying new recipes, but this is one I go to time and time again. And that’s sayin’ something.

The lighting was bad, but if you look closely, you can see the “funfetti” (green specks of zucchini)

Vegan recipe found here at one of my favorite blogs. And if you don’t want to try the vegan version, she has another one here.

I prefer the vegan recipe but have also used the normal one when I didn’t have any almond butter- I highly recommend both, though 🙂

Here’s what I did (bold are my changes):

1/2c whole wheat flour
1/2c whole wheat pastry or white whole wheat flour (1050 in Germany)
1/2c spelt flour
1/2t salt
1/2t baking soda
1/2t baking powder (1t in Germany)
2t cinnamon
1/4cunsweetened applesauce
2T almond butter
1/3c maple syrup
2T canola oil
1/4c sucanat (I’ve also used raw sugar and it works fine)
1 package Vanillezucker
3T ground flax meal
1/4c + 1/2T water
1c rounded zucchini, I grate approximately half on the larger side and half on the finer side of the grater)
1/2c chopped walnuts
2T ground hazelnuts (optional)
2-4T non-dairy milk, if too dry (I left this out)

Preheat oven to 350ºF or 175ºC.

In a small bowl, combine ground flax meal and water. Set aside for 5-10 minutes. This acts as an egg.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flours, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and cinnamon.

In a large bowl, combine applesauce, almond butter, maple syrup, oil, sucanat, Vanillezucker and flax mixture.

Add the dry to the wet; stir until combined (but do not over mix). Stir in the walnuts, zucchini and ground hazelnuts if using. If your batter is too dry, go ahead an add milk at this point, 1T at a time until it is not longer too dry. The batter should be very thick, so don’t add too much.

I use silicone muffin cups, but otherwise grease your muffin tin. Fill 2/3 of the way full. Sprinkle with more chopped walnuts, chopped almonds, chocolate chips, bananas, blueberries or pepitas (or any combination of these. I used chopped almonds and chocolate chips.

Bake normal muffins for 18-22 mins and the mini ones for 12-15. When doing the toothpick test, the toothpick should be slightly moist.

Let cool and enjoy! Now I guess it’s time to study (or maybe not quite yet).

Leave a Reply

