December Highlights

Hi everyone,

Sorry I’ve been slacking a bit with updates. December has been a really busy month, so I thought I’d share some highlights with you.

First was my birthday- here was my spread:

Here’s what I served:

baked camembert with brown sugar, maple syrup and pecans
hummus
mini pumpkin cupcakes and frosting
veggies and bread for dipping
gouda cheese
clementines
iced sugar cookies
and unphotographed were chocolate chip cookie dough balls and homemade ferrero rocher candies

I’m not posting any of the recipes becasue I want to get through this post, but if you want any of them, just leave a comment and I’ll share.

The next highlight were the Christmas Markets. Christmas in Germany wouldn’t be the same without them. We visited the ones in Fulda, Kassel, Frankfurt, Heidelberg and Strasbourg this year.

Frankfurt
this is GlΓΌhwein (or mulled wine). It’s served nice and hot to keep you warm while you visit the Christmas Markets.
One of the markets in Strasbourg, I think it’s one of the oldest in Europe (if not the oldest)
chocolate covered fruit- yum!

My Program also took a trip to a town called Bad Liebenzell where there is a sort of conference center for school groups. You can find more info here – the link for English wouldn’t work for me, but maybe it will for you? On the way, we stopped in Heidelberg for an hour or so and on one of our days, we visited Strasbourg to see the European Parliament and the European Court of Human Rights.

A view of Heidelberg
the view from our classroom- not too shabby πŸ™‚
some random square we stumbled upon in Strasbourg- I need to go back- not to this particular square- I mean Strasbourg- I fell in love with this city the first time I visited and the feeling hasn’t changed πŸ™‚
macaroons- they were a bit stale though, I’m going to try to recreate them sometime soon, but I hear they’re fussy…
can’t go to France without eating a baguette- the ones in Germany just don’t compare πŸ™‚
European Parliament on the left and the European Court of Human Rights on the right
Flammekueche or Flammkuchen- I don’t think there’s an English name, but it’s sort of pizza like (with a thinner dough) with craime fraiche, bacon, and onions- and it’s delicious. I’m also going to try to recreate this soon. We’ll see how that goes πŸ˜‰

I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas and that you all have a Happy New Year! I’ll post some new recipes soon- there are a few things I’m working on πŸ™‚

One thought on “December Highlights

  1. Pingback: A Tribute to Friends | Hungry Ami

Leave a Reply

