Leftovers

Hi Everyone,

I know Thanksgiving is long over, but I thought I’d share a recipe I found for leftovers anyway. I’m not actually a huge fan of Thanksgiving leftovers (except the Turkey), and I especially hate leftover mashed potatoes. I swear they have a different taste when reheated…However, I found a new favorite recipe for leftover mashed potatoes!

Leftover Mashed Potato Biscuits

adapted from

here

1 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour*
1 cup spelt flour*
2 T. baking powder (3T. German Backpulver)
1t. salt
2T. sugar
1/4 cup butter or margarine
1 1/2 cups leftover mashed potatoes
1 egg, lightly beaten
1/3 cup cold milk

*any mix of flours should work, I just wanted to make these a bit healthier

Preheat oven to 400ºF (200ºC). In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar. Cut in the butter with a fork until the butter is evenly incorporated. Repeat this with the mashed poatoes. Make a well in the mixture and pour in the egg and milk. Knead the dough (I did it in the bowl but this can also be done on a floured surface) until it comes together.

If you want, you can now roll out the dough and cut with a biscuit cutter. I found the dough a bit too sticky, though, so I just formed into balls and then flattened them. They were light and fluffy and delicious this way, but if you want to take the extra time, go for it 🙂

Place on an ungreased baking sheet (I used parchment paper/Backpapier) and bake for 15-20 minutes.

My friends came over for turkey soup and biscuits. It may seem weird to have chunks of potatoes in your biscuits, but they were delicious- we devoured them 🙂 (you could also prevent the large chunks by blending the potatoes first, but really, they’re delicious just the way they are- I wouldn’t change them). This recipe is also great because you can make it anytime of the year- not just at Thanksgiving

The next day, I made the recipe again, but used half of the dough for a cover to a pot pie. I more or less followed this recipe for pot pie filling, put it in a casserole dish, and covered with the dough. I then baked it for 30-35 minutes until the biscuit was cooked through. Unfortunately, we were all starving, and I didn’t manage to take any pictures; it was also very delicious though, and a great way to use up those pesky leftovers. It was also a healthier (slightly) alternative to regular pie crust.

Leave a Reply

