First Blogging Adventures

I’ve decided to start a blog. Again. This time I promise to write more than two entries though 🙂 Last time I started before I had discovered the amazingness that is food blogs and found it hard to find time to find the time to ramble on about my life in Paris (although I assure you it was blog-worthy).

Now it’s different. I’ve discovered a love of cooking and baking and figured this would be the perfect way to combine that with my love of writing and Deutschland. Unfortunately, I only have a two-burner stove and a toaster oven, but I make do. My very lucky poor fellow students can attest to that 😉 Of course, I’m not in Germany to bake in a toaster oven and cook on a two-burner stove, so I’ll also use this blog as a way to update everyone (well anyone who feels like being updated) on other things (like school!). This post might be a bit long because it’s my first, not sure what the future will bring. I’ll do my best to update though. I already have a recipe I want to try out for a friend’s birthday (well 2 actually), so keep an eye out for that.
So first things first: I miss my old sous-chef. I will never stop being fascinated by children and how open and curious they are, especially when it comes to trying food (ok maybe not all kids, but this one). I’ve never met a two-year-old who could say nutritional yeast, for example 🙂 His parents played a big role in this, but I tried to teach him everything I could before leaving (like the importance of licking the bowl).  Sure the cooking part was fun, but I’m pretty sure he mostly just wanted to eat everything  🙂
Anyway, on to Fulda! Meet my toaster oven. Normally it’s not covered in tinfoil and a Norwegian oven mitt, but I had to get creative here… my friend and I had made some delicious (sadly non photographed) bars and were ready to stick them in the oven, but uh oh, the pan was too big… a little MacGyver action and all was well again 🙂
Wanna see some other creations? I haven’t taken pictures of most of the things I’ve made, but this will change soon.
Homemade Falafel, Hummus, and a Cucumber-Yogurt Sauce (with the help of a friend)
Did you know they don’t sell canned pumpkin purée in Germany? The horror! How was I supposed to enjoy all my favorite fall treats with no pumpkin? Luckily they do sell whole pumpkins. So homemade puree it was.
Luckily I brought my immersion blender with me (and my mini muffin form)

Here’s the recipe for the pumpkin spice muffins, as inspired by Mama Pea at peasandthankyou.com
1 1/2 c. pumpkin purée
1/4 c. canola oil
1/3 c. milk of choice
3/4 c. raw sugar
1/2 t. vanilla extract
1/3 c. unsweetened applesauce
1T maple syrup
1 /2 c. whole wheat spelt flour
3/4 c. whole wheat pastry flour (type 1050 German style)
1t. baking powder (2t. German style)
1/2 t. baking soda
1/2 t. salt
3 t. cinnamon
1 t. ground ginger
1/2 t. nutmeg
1/2 t. garam masala
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix wet ingredients (puree, oil, milk, sugar, vanilla, apple sauce, maple syrup).
In a separate bowl, whisk the rest of the ingredients until combined.
Add dry ingredients to wet.
This recipe is very versatile and can be made into mini muffins, muffins, a cake, or bars and is incredibly moist and delicious.
I also make a frosting to go on top (which has sort of become an obsession of a few of my German friends), which I prepare a day in advance:
These are approximations because I have never measured…
1 package cream cheese (200g), room temperature
4 T butter or margarine, room temperature
2-4 cups powdered sugar (until desired sweetness and consistency)
Vanillazucker or Vanilla extract
3 t. cinnamon
1 t. ground ginger
1 t. nutmeg
1/2 t. salt
With an electric mixer, cream together the cream cheese and butter. Slowly add powdered sugar and vanilla. Now add the spices and adjust amounts based on flavor. This frosting can be served immediately but tastes much better after the flavors develop overnight in the fridge. It also helps it thicken.
Frost and enjoy!
2 thoughts on “First Blogging Adventures

  1. >Ally, This will be a great way for sharing your experiences while you are in Germany (or where ever you are for that matter) Thanks for taking the time to write..which by the way you are so good at doing… It's very impressive how you have adapted your cooking to your limited toaster oven and burner space. Then again, your McIver skills first came out when you were 3 years old and you discovered that you could use bread bag ties to put on the training wheels of your bicycle 🙂 I look forward to reading your entries.

Leave a Reply

