Chocolate Cheesecake Cupcakes

Happy St. Patrick’s Day, everyone!

Anyone have any big plans? It’s not really a holiday here, so my day is going to be filled with research, cleaning, sending out cover letters and all that sort of fun stuff ;)

Someone just rang my doorbell (which I am very excited to have after not having one for 6 months!) and it was the flower delivery man- my mom sent me flowers for my new apartment! Thanks, Mom! They made my day :)

So as part of trying to live a healthy life, I place a lot of value on regular doctor check ups, if there’s something wrong with me, I’d rather know and deal with it as early as possible. Yesterday, I went to the dermatologist/allergist (same person in Germany) to get a skin test and allergy test. After determining none of my moles are problematic (yay!), I got sent to the allergist section to get poked and prodded. It’s just in the past few years that I’ve started to develop allergies, and I’m still trying to figure out exactly what’s triggering them. First they drew blood and then did a prick test on my arm.  I then had to sit there for 20 minutes while my arm felt like it was on fire- fun stuff. But if it will help me figure out these allergies, it was worth it. By now, you’re probably wondering why I’m telling you all of this, and there is a reason (sort of). After my appointment, I went home (to my new apartment!) and literally passed out. After an unintentional three-hour nap, I still felt pretty groggy, so I went to the gym in hopes of waking up (it helped) and then decided to make cupcakes. I figured I’d earned them after such an off day, and I’m very excited to share these with you.

I found these over at Willow Bird Baking and am very excited they turned out so great.  She’s also holding a cheesecake challenge until April 5th, so I thought it’d be a fun thing to participate in.

I recently made coconut butter and have been eating it on everything lately (oats, curry, plain), so I figured I’d also try to add it to these, why not, right? Let me just say my intuition was right! I also made them mini, just for fun :)

Mini Chocolate Cheesecake Filled Cupcakes in Three Varieties (Plain, Coconut, and Strawberry)

Recipe from Willow Bird Baking

Yields 36 mini cupcakes (or 12 regular)

Cream Cheese Filling Ingredients:
8 ounces cream cheese, room temperature (I used half light and half regular)
1/3c sugar
1 large egg, room temperature
1/2t pure vanilla extract
4-5T coconut butter (optional add-in but highly recommended)

Chocolate Cupcake Ingredients:
1c All-Purpose flour
1/2c whole wheat flour (or use 1.5c TOTAL whole wheat pastry flour, I was out)
1c white sugar
1/3c cocoa powder
1t baking soda
1/2t salt
1/2c milk
1/2c water
1/3c canola oil
1T balsamic vinegar
1t pure vanilla extract
2-4T strawberry jam (or other jam of preference), optional

Preheat oven to 350ºF (175ºC). Grease muffin pan or line with paper liners (or use a nonstick pan).

First make your cream cheese filling: With a hand mixer or wooden spoon, beat the cream cheese until it’s smooth. Add the remaining ingredients and beat until creamy. If you want to make coconut chocolate cupcakes, fold in the coconut butter at this point. I added 3T to half of the batter and left the rest plain.

Now make the chocolate cupcakes: In a large bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients: the flours, sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt.

In a separate bowl, combine the liquid ingredients: oil, vinegar, water, milk and vanilla extract.

Make a well in the dry ingredients and add the wet ingredients. Stir until just combined.

Now comes the fun part :)

For Plain and Coconut: Add about 2t cupcake batter to each cup and cover with about 2t cream cheese mixture. With the back of a spoon (or toothpick) lightly marbleize the two together. You can also add a bit more cupcake batter if each cup isn’t full, just play around and see what works best for you. I found it worked best when each cup is just about full.

For Strawberry: Add about 1t cupcake batter to each cup and cover with about 1t cream cheese filling and 1/2-1t jam. Then add another 1t cupcake batter. These get a little messy in the oven, but I found that when I left a little room in each cup, it worked better.

Place in the preheated oven and bake for 10-12 minutes. Move to the cooling rack and let cool for a few minutes before removing from the pan. Once cool, refrigerate in an airtight container for a few days. Or, if you’re like me and don’t think you should eat 36 cupcakes in a few days, wrap in plastic wrap and then aluminum foil and freeze them.

Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Cheesecake Cupcakes

  1. Yum!! These look SO delicious, and I love your variations! Thanks so much for participating in the challenge! If you’d email your photos and this link to juruble ‘at’ gmail ‘dot’ com, I’d love to include it in my Cheesecake Challenge showcase! :)

  2. Pingback: Your Flippin’ Awesome Cheesecakes! | Willow Bird Baking

Leave a Reply

